Skip to content

Gaza ‘looks like earthquake zone’

19 January, 2009

Do I want to do this?  Do I want to speak out?  Do I want to speak the truth as I see it?  Should I instead defer to those who will smear my character because of my words?  Do I want to hear people who know nothing about me call me an “anti-semite” or say that I am no better than a Nazi for speaking against them?

Can I be silenced?  Once, I could.  I would not speak what was in my mind and heart because I knew what fury would be unleashed against me.  I was a coward in the face of an opposition that usurped the meaning of words, ideas and history and that shouted me down with anger and intimidation.

And then I realized that if I can be silenced by intimidation and fear, I will have lost my honor, my integrity, and my soul.


The United Nations says some 50,800 Palestinians are now homeless and 400,000 are without running water.
clip
Palestinian medical sources say at least 1,300 Palestinians were killed and 5,500 injured during the conflict. Thirteen Israelis were killed.
clip

CONFLICT IN FIGURES

More than 1,300 Palestinians killed
Thirteen Israeli deaths
More than 4,000 buildings destroyed in Gaza, more than 20,000 severely damaged
50,800 Gazans homeless and 400,000 without running water

The BBC’s Christian Fraser travelled to Jabaliya on the northern edge of Gaza City, where the Israeli tanks first crossed over the border. He says entire neighbourhoods have disappeared.
He met 67-year-old Fatma Umanim, sitting beside the remains of her collapsed house, her neighbours building a makeshift shelter for her next to the rubble.
Our correspondent says an industry is growing out of the destruction in broken wood and scrap metal – Gaza’s poorest salvaging whatever they can.
Fatim Aljaru, aged 35, told the BBC that every single building on her street on the outskirts of Gaza City had been damaged or destroyed.

She said the home that she had shared with her husband and eight children was now a pile of rubble.

“Just look what they’ve done… we are human beings(underline emphasis mine) how can they treat us this way? What will we do?”

clip

Well, Fatma, they can treat you that way because they do not think of you as human beings.  I have heard Israeli and American Jews calling you “animals” and “terrorists” and saying that you all ought to be killed.  (This sounds a bit like “genocide” to me, but what do I know?)  (here)

You are not civilized and deserve no better than you receive at their hands.  They can put up fences, close crossings, refuse to allow your tax money into the country, control the amount of international aid you receive, and punish you for having a free election that the West demanded and then electing a group that they did not want.  You are in a ghetto and if you dare to protest, as did the Jews in Poland under similar circumstances, they will create a massive “pogrom.’ (They like to claim that this word only applies to their past suffering, but it is really “a Russian word meaning “to wreak havoc, to demolish violently.” From what I have seen of Gaza today, they did accomplish this much.

They will say it is a defense against your rockets which terrorize them and create trauma among their citizen, but they will never acknowledge the trauma that you, your children, your grandchildren, and your neighboring civilians suffer. If you want peace they say, you should drive out the militants (though no one seems to know how you might accomplish that).  If you do that the Israelis will allow water, food, gas, cooking fuel, and the other basic requirements of life to flow like milk and honey into your lands.


International Committee of the Red Cross spokesman said on Monday evening that 10 ambulances carrying medical supplies had travelled into Gaza via the Kerem Shalom crossing in the south. Israeli spokesman Mark Regev told the BBC that medicines, foodstuffs and energy would reach Gaza “in the volume that is required and in an expeditious manner.”
clip

“An expeditious* manner” – do you suppose he meant “right away.”  Meanwhile, the injured wait for Israel to allow in medical supplies, ambulances and medical assistants.  There are no longer granaries or oil supplies for cooking what little food can be found.  And there are no shelters.  So the civilians are without food, water and shelter until Israel determines what is the right volume of aid needed in Gaza.  Have they sent their medics to help?  Their emergency teams to assist in cleaning up the rubble and searching for bodies?

There is no longer room to bury the dead.


With all due respect to my American Jewish friends who are staunch defenders of Israel:  this attack cements my growing belief that Israel has tilted towards fascism – a religious majority, with a strong military-industrial complex.  Every citizen trains for war, the indoctrination begins early and reaches across the Atlantic Ocean.  Palestinians in Israel do not have the full rights of Jewish citizens.

Am I a rabid anti-semite?  No, I am not.  Do I hate Israel?  No, I do not.  Will my answers satisfy you?  No, they will not.


* expeditious — Adjective: done quickly and efficiently

Collins Essential English Dictionary 2nd Edition 2006 © HarperCollins Publishers 2004, 2006


from the BBC:  video and story

I am not alone in expressing this opinion: (here)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 16 April, 2009 21:15

    I cannot view the video ” I am not alone “

    • 16 April, 2009 21:15

      The video is of a Holocaust survivor who disapproves of Israel’s actions in Gaza. I have refreshed the link; it should work for you now.

  2. 16 April, 2009 21:15

    The war crime issue is still ignored by the giant broadcast and print media , they are always diverting and focus to other issues like scrutiny and condemnation of Iran and Korea nuclear and space mission issues. The World is starving not only in the economic aspiration but also of justice. The War Crime must be an urgent and consistent issues of today, otherwise the Humanitarian Campaign of the international community will be good as void and meaningless to people…

Leave a Reply

