Skip to content

I just could Not Resist the temptation to write a response.

1 January, 2011
by

In 2008, I was a Hillary supporter and watched horrified as she threw her support behind the O-Icon. I’d been reading about the vigilantes at the polling places, the fraudulent voting processes, registration, donations, etc; so when I stumbled upon a PUMA site, I was hooked into a network of like-minded folk – or so I thought. I started a blog which I enjoyed writing for, but I slowly fell out of favor with some of the groups I was talking with because of my criticism of Israel’s war on Gaza in December 2008. Later, I fell out of favor for criticizing those Christians opposed to abortion and/or gay marriage. People still read my blog, but not my erst-while friends. I became one of the shunned. Of course, that didn’t stop me from writing and it didn’t hurt my feelings either. I’m used to antagonizing “true believers” of all ilks because I am not part of any sect myself and being sectarian is part of the American way of life.

All of which brings me to the point of this post.

____________________

Shtuey at Oy…My Valve wrote a particularly nasty post for the day after Christmas in which he hurled insults at people who do not believe as he does, basically because Jesus was born in Bethlehem to Jewish parents. Somehow this clearly indicates that you are a hypocrite of the worst kind if you celebrate Christmas, but think that Zionism has turned ugly. I normally don’t read  Shtuey’s rants since he transitioned from a PUMA and became a spokesperson for Israel, but I was intrigued by the title. The post provoked a response in me, but I wrote no comment and moved on. Another post at American Thinker, however, has prompted me to write today.

First, the possibility that a Jewish child became the leader of a Christian religion is irrelevant to Shtuey’s argument. Two thousand years ago, most of the world belonged to someone else strong enough to hold on to it, but most countries succumbed to invasions, migrations, immigrations etc, etc. That some Jews were living there but chose to leave when the Romans tried to impose a single form of religion in the Republic (to which Palestine belonged) does not ipso facto mean that anyone should agree that the land is theirs. It was given to them by a British Protectorate (whom Israel terrorists had no qualms about killing). They are there under a Mandate, so let’s just accept it and move on. They were not told, however, that they could have all the land their stories tell them were once upon a time theirs. If that were the case, only Puritans would be inheritors of the US continent (oh wait, they do believe this don’t they?)

So, why am I taking issue with American Thinker? Because the thoughtful post on the demise of the Great American Republic comes down to this: that the Judeo-Christian morals have been abandoned and too many people have turned from God. Never mind that Eisenhower warned us of the dangers in a military/industrial complex. Never mind that the nation has been at war perpetually since the end of the Great War. Never mind that the complex has grown larger and rich and more powerful, in the process giving the post-war middle class a much better lifestyle than ever before.  What is wrong with this county, according to the post, is not the Greed of the rich, or the lack of attention paid by the voters while they pursue their stuff; rather, it is the existence of  people who do not adhere to the Judeo-Christian mindset and who are therefore responsible for the downfall of this country.

Maybe America should be divided in religious states because when you say Judeo-Christian, you are speaking about individual interpretations. All Baptists could have one state, all Presbyterians could have another, Quakers, Catholics, Anglicans, etc, etc, could have their own rules and regulations. Of course there would probably be some infighting within each religion about abortion, dress, marriage, sex and other interpretations of the ten commandments or Jesus’s teachings, but that would not have to concern the other sects.


What we are lacking is Ethics.  Responsibility, Values and Morality are secular issues. You do not have to be a Jew or a Christian, a Sikh or a Muslim to be moral. You do have to clarify your morality and then live by it

(Christians and Jews here might be called hypocrites, Shtuey, because not every one who calls himself a Christian or a Jew practices his/her religion’s values. Don’t even get me started on what that young man from Bethlehem might think about the way we live and treat each other today. )

Ethics defines right and wrong, good and bad, evil from righteous.  Combined with classes on Civics and Civic Responsibility, Ethics would  be a powerful tool to unite this country.  As it stands right now, we have been so divided that we can not stand.  On this I agree with American Thinker.  I don’t think Shtuey and I will ever agree about anything again.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 1 January, 2011 21:15

    Well said. Ethics and morality may actually be more important than the religion any one believes in because ethics and morality can prevent religious power grabs that inevitability occur among ALL religions.

    • 1 January, 2011 21:15

      Good point, I hadn’t even thought about religious power grabs despite the fact that it happens around us all the time and throughout the world.

  2. goofsmom permalink
    2 January, 2011 21:15

    Excellent post catsden. I agree with you 1000%. 🙂

  3. goofsmom permalink
    3 January, 2011 21:15

    You’re welcome catsden. I took a 3 day lambasting because I spoke out about the very same things.

    It is nice to see that I am not alone in feeling the way I do.

    Dailypuma is right, ethics and morals are not the exclusive right of any religion. They are a societal need, without them there can not be a healthy society or environment.

    IMHO opinion, the Ten Commandments were just a written record of what was already known. They were not anything new.

Leave a Reply

